One-Forty or Less – Chapter 6

Chapter 6

“Hi Sasha.”

Sasha turned to see who was speaking and to her shock it was Jacob’s ex. “What….what the? Oh fuck…..is…are…are you and Jacob still going out? I didn’t know I swear. Oh fuck I….” Sasha babbled over Jessica’s head shaking. She looked like she was about to cry.

Quickly Sasha motioned for her to sit down and without thinking held on to the sniveling woman’s soft hands, hoping to calm her. “You….you don’t understand.” Jessica finally managed to blubber. “It’s….it’s me!” She looked straight at Sasha, tears welling up. “I’m….I’m the one that…..I’m who you’ve….” she lowered her head unable to finish.

Sasha abruptly pulled her hands away from Jessica. “Wait….you….you’re who I’m supposed to be meeting?” Jessica nodded shamefully. “But….why…why did you say you were Jacob?”

Jessica looked up at Sasha, “When I showed you that picture I wanted you to be looking at me. I didn’t know you were looking at him. Then you started calling me Jacob…and…I ….I didn’t know what to say.”

“You could have damn well told me you were a chick at least!” Sasha blurted, louder than she was expecting.

Jessica winced, “I…I know…I know…I just….” she sighed, picked up a napkin and dabbed her eyes. “I guess I thought if I told you right away you wouldn’t want to talk to me at all.”

“Probably,” Sasha admitted, “But….like…I’m not into…that…..you know that right?”

Jessica looked up at Sasha and peered at her with bright blue eyes, “but you thought I was pretty cute….you said that…you…called me cute though.”

“Yeah well…you are but like….that doesn’t mean.” Sasha sighed. “Just, please stop crying would you. People are looking at us weird.”

Jessica hunched over and looked back and forth, dabbing her eyes a little more and managing to smile at Sasha, “You know you look hot tonight.” she offered.

Despite herself, Sasha smiled, “Thanks.” then after pausing for a moment, “You still look cute Jessica.” She smiled back.

“I’m really sorry Sasha. I didn’t mean for any of this to happen. It’s……it’s all really new to me.”

“What do you mean?”

“I….well I never really thought I was…you know….before.” Jessica continued. Sasha, who ordinarily would be a little skittish by the subject matter leant forward, intrigued. “When I was with Jacob we were really in love. Like…really.” she looked up at Sasha and nodded her head with wide eyes emphasizing as much as possible without having the vocabulary to back it up. “But then…”

“What changed?” Sasha interjected, curious as to how this story unfolded.

“I….I started to have a crush on someone.” Jessica sighed and looked up at Sasha. The redhead cocked her head slightly to the side still quite curious. “My roommate of all people.”

Sasha nodded in understanding. If she was to be honest with herself she had a little girl crush on Iria. She was just such a powerhouse. She didn’t back down and she didn’t care what other people thought. Iria just did what Iria wanted and didn’t give a damn about the consequences. It was awe inspiring for Sasha to see such a woman in action. Despite herself, Sasha could understand how easily admiration could morph into something more. As she thought about it, Mr. Baritone’s revelation repeated the same thing. Sasha wondered how often this happened.

“She was just so damn pretty and she didn’t really flaunt it so much as own it.” Jessica tried to explain. “She was just so attractive to me. The way she talked. The way she acted. She was just so sweet and so pretty I started to fall for her.” Jessica looked up and blushed. Sasha sat in silence riveted to her new companions story. “Before I knew it I was constantly thinking about her. It was like I was possessed. When I was kissing Jacob I was wondering what kissing her would be like. What hugging her would be like. Was feeling her…..naked next to me.” Jessica closed her eyes and softly smiled before she shook her head and covered her face with her hands. “I just….I couldn’t handle it any more. You know?”

Sasha nodded again. Though she didn’t have many gay friends she could empathize with the life they had been born into. Sasha wondered if her own parents would have accepted her if she came out as a lesbian. Her dad might have, but her mom….not so much. Sasha’s mom was obsessed with getting grandkids as soon as possible. If Sasha came home pregnant in high school her mom would be upset for about a minute but then would go into full on happy grandma mode. It was nice that Sasha knew she’d be supportive, but Sasha wasn’t the stay at home and raise five kids sort of girl. She really was just in the midst of finding out what sort of girl she really was.

“It’s confusing though,” Jessica continued. “It’s not like I don’t like men. I love them. I find men really hot and,” she leaned in closer and whispered “I loved being fucked by Jacob.” Sasha nodded again, wishing she knew that feeling. Frankly if Jessica was Jacob Sasha probably would have already taken him up to a room already. “I mean…he was good. He really took care of me, you know?”

Sasha nodded again, only being able to imagine what she meant. It wasn’t that Sasha was a virgin, but there’s a big difference between the clumsy pawing of two horny teenagers not sure how everything works, and the desperate passion of a man and woman who know exactly what to do. Sasha had only ever being with cubs, and wished very much to be mauled by a lion.

“So is that why you and Jacob broke up? Because he found out?” Sasha asked, surprisingly comfortable with this new unexpected situation.

Jessica shook her head, “No. Not at all.”

“So you never told him?”

She shook her head again “I couldn’t tell him. I couldn’t tell anyone.” she sobbed. “My dad….he’s an elder in our church and my mom…god she’d have an aneurism.” she sniffled again and looked at Sasha “I just…I don’t know what to do. You know?”

“What about your roommate? Does she know?”

Jessica furrowed her brow in thought, sniffled a little, opened her mouth and then closed it again. “I….I’m not actually sure. She might already know.” Jessica shrugged.

“Don’t you want her to?” Sasha persisted.

“I’m afraid though.” she replied. “If I come up to her and say, ‘Hey I’d really like to kiss you’ what happens if she didn’t? What happens if she’s horrified? If she goes to the campus whatevers and like…reports me and stuff? Oh god…” the possible consequences came crashing down upon the fragile woman and she buckled into tears again. “Then….they’d probably tell my…my parents…and…..oh god…oh…”

Sasha held the sobbing girl’s hand, “None of that has happened though. Just relax. We’re only talking here. Ok?”

Jessica nodded, “I’m not really making a good first impression here am I.” she chuckled.

Sasha smiled, “Well first impressions went out the window when you showed up with tits.”

The two girls laughed, and seeing her opportunity a waitress interjected asking for Jessica’s drink order. “I’ll have what she’s having and….” she looked at Sasha for confirmation, “…and she’ll have another.”

The thirty something waitress nodded and turned on her heel, walking stiffly off towards the bartender.

Sasha sighed, “I’m sorry but I can’t help but ask. Why did you pretend to be Jacob? If you like women why wouldn’t you approach a woman and tell them you liked them in that way?”

Jessica shrugged her shoulders. “I guess, when I looked at your postings I interpreted them differently.” she explained. The waitress returned with their drinks and Jessica took a large sip of hers immediately. “Like you sort of post a lot with your friend, and….well…you know….sometimes it’s like….you two…look…” She paused for a moment and Sasha thought about what was coming next. She quickly reviewed her postings in her head and filtered them through the eyes of a woman interested in women.

“Shit…..” Sasha blurted in a whisper. “Is that how I look?” She thought of all the pictures of Iria and her at the bar making kissy faces at each other. Mockingly fondling each others breasts. Bending over and pretend spanking the other. “Jesus fuck….I look more lez than you do!” she exclaimed just as Iria and Mr. Baritone arrived at the table.

Iria looked at Sasha quizzically then at Jessica. This wasn’t a scenario they had trained for. “Uhh heyyyy roomie..funny meeting you here.” She started. Iria looked for Sasha’s hands but Sasha in her shocked state had placed them under the table completely forgetting the plan.

Sasha looked over at the couple and smiled, “Oh hey Iria. This is my friend Jessica.” She looked over at Jessica then turned back to Iria, “She just broke up with her boyfriend Jacob so….yah.” Sasha let the words hang in the air waiting for them to be accepted and digested.

Iria nodded slowly and turned to Mr. Baritone, “Ah ok. Well we’ll leave you two alone. See you at home I guess?” Iria smiled awkwardly and waved goodbye to the two women, grabbing the silent Mr. Baritone by the arm and dragging his confused face away from the area.

“Do you want to go somewhere more private to talk?” Sasha asked, doing her best to be warm and comforting.

Jessica looked up from her drink. She smiled and nodded in agreement.

Sasha quickly retrieved Jonathan’s card and texted him that she needed to be picked up.

“Thank you Sasha. I’m so sorry about all of….this.” She bent her head down again and sighed.

Sasha reached out and held the fragile woman’s hand. “It’s ok.” She offered. “Let’s just go back to my place, have a couple of drinks and laugh this silly night away.”

Jessica looked up at Sasha and smiled. Her makeup was running slightly but she was still quite pretty. Sasha smiled back and shook her hand lovingly. “It will be alright. Let me pay for my drinks here and we’ll head out.”

“No no, I’ll get them. After all, I’m supposed to be the guy here right?” She laughed, stood up and made her way to the bar purse in hand.

“Where’s Jacob?” A voice came from behind Sasha. She whirled around to see the now familiar face of Jonathan.

“He’s right there.” Sasha said with a smirk.

Jonathan looked over at Jessica standing at the bar. She turned and wave at the two before turning back to the bartender. Jonathan looked at Sasha puzzled, “That’s a woman.” He stated dryly.

Sasha nodded, “I was just as surprised Jonathan.” She chuckled and put her arm around his slight but muscular shoulder.

“Where am I to take you?” He asked softly unsure of the two women’s intentions. Jonathan being a little socially awkward found pairing of any two people odd. It didn’t matter to him if they were man and woman, man and man, or woman and woman. Every pairing was strange in his eyes. In that way he was perhaps as accepting as anyone could be.

“We’re going back to my place.” Sasha informed the young genius.

“For the whole night?”

“I think so yes.” She paused for moment but thought better of inviting him up again. Jessica was sensitive at the moment and really she needed some friendly girl girl time.

Jessica, having finished paying for Sasha’s bill walked over with a little more confidence than before. “Where to?” She asked, bubbly and bright.

“I’m taking you back to Sasha’s place now.” Jonathan informed her. “Sasha has decided to have you stay the night.”

Jessica turned to Sasha and smiled. As much as she knew that it was only out of pity she could help but wish it was something more. “Sounds good to me.” She said, trying to walk the tightrope between ambivalence and excitement.

“If you girls want to make out in the car I’ve got a privacy divider.” Jonathan offered bluntly.

Sasha slapped him on the shoulder, “Jonathan!” He turned to look at her clearly confused.

“I could keep it down if you’d rather me watch.”

“What?! No!” Sasha blubbered.

“There’s one couple that always asks me to watch. She likes to show off and….”

“Ok ok that’s enough Jonathan.” Sasha held up her hand. “Let’s just get going ok?”

Jessica smiled and was happy to have a little comedic relief. She followed Sasha and Jonathan out the door and into the back of the waiting black car. A few moments they were on there way to Sasha’s apartment. Jessica felt strangely calm about it but still was excited to be so close to Sasha. Her red hair and green eyes were so delectable to Jessica. What’s more she smelled amazing. Jessica took long deep but quiet breaths trying to capture the redhead’s scent with her mind. She did her best not to stare but as Sasha talked all Jessica could think about was kissing her.

Sasha looked at her new companion and smiled. While she wasn’t Jacob, she was a nice distraction from studying. Sasha felt a strange kinship with her. Like a baby bird she needed to nurse back to health. Without thinking Sasha reached out and put her arm around Jessica. She pulled her close and smiled, “We can still have a decent evening tonight.” she offered.

The privacy barrier slowly began to rise and Sasha shook her head and laughed. Jonathan was under the impression the two women in his car were about to make out. As far as Sasha was concerned that wasn’t going to happen.

Jessica on the other hand was wishing that’s exactly what was going to happen.

One thought on “One-Forty or Less – Chapter 6

Leave a Reply

