Truth #15

 

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

If this was 10 years ago I think it would have been an easier question to answer. That isn’t to say that I think I’m perfect now. Far from it. But I think that over the last little while I’ve become more comfortable with who I am and less anxious to change aspects of who that is.

 

Now of course you’re saying;

“But hey….you keep this writing a secret. You don’t tell us who you are or where you live or anything…how can you say you’re comfortable with who you are if you’re clearly keeping secrets?”

Well….person in my head….that’s certainly a valid question. I guess I would answer that by saying that I’m comfortable, but cautious. Being comfortable with who you are doesn’t automatically mean that everyone else is going to be. If I was to tell my mom what I write, and send her a sample, I think she would be outwardly supportive, but inwardly mortified. So while I may be ok with it, others aren’t. It’s for the sake of those others that I’m not so willy nilly about my actual reality.

 

 

Now I started by saying that I’m not perfect, and it’s true, very very true. Comfort with oneself doesn’t mean there isn’t room for improvement. So perhaps the question should be slightly reformed to say, “If you could refine one thing about yourself, what would it be?”

These are my top three:

  1. I’m not as fit as I should be. I really need to work out more.

  2. I eat too many sweets. Sugar is my downfall. It knocks me down every time. I need to improve my diet over the long term.

  3. I set lofty goals and will sometimes abandon them as achieving them gets more difficult than I have the patience for.

I must remember this when I get frustrated.

 

 

I hope that answers your question. Please be sure to vote on your choice for next weeks revelation.

 

3 thoughts on “Truth #15

  1. Sorry . . . I feel like I’m becoming a terrible comment whore (sigh), but one of the books I’m reading right now is called the Talent Code by Daniel Coyle. You might find it encouraging when considering goals especially in the context of writing.

    Like

      1. He doesn’t talk about goals per se, but instead about practicing skills (i.e. writing in this case). Basically, he says that the squiggly line on the way to success as illustrated above is not necessarily a bad thing. In fact, it is to be expected and embraced. The trick it seems in your case is the not giving up part.

        Like

Leave a Reply

