Personal #Deadlines ….

….and how it feels to miss them.

 

As you may or may not know, the vast majority of my writing is done while at work. It’s not because I’m woefully insubordinate and do not tend to my workplace duties, but because my job has a high tide and low tide. I work in an area that can become quite intense at times. For the past four months there was a lull. As such it was quite easy for me to rattle of a chapter here, a short story there, and easily keep to my self imposed schedule. As March came my own personal March madness began.

My work days are now quite full from the moment I enter the door to the moment I leave. It’s so busy that in fact I have to set an alarm on my phone to remind myself to leave. It’s so busy that the side jobs that I would also do during regular work hours have to be completed in the wee hours of the morning, usually after a late hockey game.

As I write this post it’s currently 5:45am on Tuesday. In one hour I will have been awake for a full 24hr stretch, and of that 24hrs, 19 were spent at work.

It’s gnawing at me that I’m missing these deadlines. The increase in “real” work has also placed a strain on my writing fluidity. I feel that it’s harder to get started if I compare it to my normal state of mind. I believe I’m behind by three chapters now, four come tomorrow. I have three separate short stories that I started but haven’t yet finished. The ideas are there. The concepts, the plot, the characters, all reside neatly in my cranium, but without the faculty to retrieve them I’m but a human shaped pylon. A space holder, nothing more.

I will have to redouble my efforts to manage my time better if I hope to get back on schedule. Wish me luck…..I think I’m going to need it.

Also…

 

I was mulling two separate ideas for new things to try on this blog. #1 A “Choose your adventure” style of recurring short story, where the next part of the story will be chosen via a poll. and #2 I was considering recording myself reading one of my stories. I’m not sure if this will ruin it, or make them better…what do you think?

 

3 thoughts on “Personal #Deadlines ….

    1. I am swamped to a degree. In reality I still do have time in the day where I could sit down and write but as yet I’ve never done any writing at home.

      Though in truth the main reason for that is because I’m doing major renovations on my home and sawdust, drywall dust, and all the other muck and mayhem is not particularly good for a computer. As such I’ve packed it away and haven’t yet unpacked it.

      Reading my own story will certainly be a challenge. I’m more comfortable with writing the naughty bits then talking about them. I think I would be incredibly self conscious about how I sounded and whether or not what I was reading sounded silly in my own voice.

      Like

      1. I thought about recording myself reading some of my stories, but hearing myself say “pussy” may be a little too awkward. I’d almost rather someone else read my stuff. Have you thought about asking someone to read for you?

        Like

Leave a Reply

