Truth #11

This is a bit of a trick question. My dad passed away when I was in high school so I don’t turn to him. You may think “oh so that means he turns to his mom for help” but you’d be wrong there too.

To be honest it’s been a very long time since I’ve turned to either for help at all. I’m more independent and have the will and strength to handle most issues on my own. I think the last major issue I ever turned to my parents for assistance was when I needed help with a book report in grade 4.
Other than that…just the usual parenting things. Clothes food and shelter.
It’s a real pain in the ass for my mom. I guess my self reliance works against her instinct to try to help in some motherly way. I can certainly understand her frustration. According to her the first sentence I ever said was “I know that.” So I’m pretty experienced at being a self reliant smart ass.

Ah well. I’d rather not need my mom then to need her incessantly.
Don’t get me wrong. I love my mom. I loved my dad when he was alive. I just don’t need them to survive which, to me, means they raised me well.

One thought on “Truth #11

Leave a Reply

