Question for #runners

I have a question for those of you out there that are experienced runners. Actually this could be for anyone that runs more than me….which is…well… everyone.

When I’m running I start out fairly smooth but before long (3 to 6min) I can hear my feet slapping against the floor more than before. This gets steadily worse as the run progresses. Simultaneously and the likely reason for the slapping, I feel a tightness in my shin. It doesn’t hurt. Doesn’t feel strained or pained. It just feels as if it is in constant tension.

So my question….is this normal for a beginner? Does this improve over time or am I doing something wrong that I need to fix before it becomes a bad habit?

Thanks for your input!

C.

8 thoughts on “Question for #runners

  1. i do not run…ok i ran once to catch a cruise ship..but thats the only time…but what you are describing is a “shin splint”. If you are new to running, weak lower leg and ankle muscles, failure to stretch the ligaments and achilles tendon pre run, even a tendency to over pronate your foot, can all be contributing. Stretch your calves and ankles, do toe lifts. If you intend on sticking with running (which is exceptionally hard on your joints by the way) then go see an Orthopedist who can diagnose feet issue and who will be able to prescribe inserts for your running shoes to correct the problem.

    Like

  2. “Ditto” to what rougedmont said. That stretching is supper important. When I first started there was still a little tightness after the start, but the more I ran the easier it got so that I could just focus on the run. But don’t give up cause once you do you’ll have to go through it all over again.

    Like

    1. See I’ve had shin splints before. They were far far more painful than this and hurt after running; to the point that I could barely handle going down a flight of stairs. This just seems…..tight. The tightness goes away as I transition from the run to the walk, and there is no pain what-so-ever.

      My instinct is telling me that it’ll go away over time and it’s just that I’m tensed up trying too hard to run “perfectly”. I just don’t want to be starting bad habits.

      It’s so strange to do an activity that is so common across ages, cultures, and nationalities, and just suck so bad at it. lol

      Like

  3. I’ve been an athlete my whole life and run a lot. You’re definitely having shin splints. You can keep running but ice them after and stretch. It’s a typical pain for runners. It takes years to develop those muscles. If they hurt on I believe the inside (don’t quote me on that) then it could be a stress fracture, but that’s after a lot of pounding. You should be fine. Just stretch and ice.

    Like

    1. It’s not painful at this point. Also I have no tightness immediately after running. Question though…how the hell do you stretch your shin muscles?? I’m trying to think of a stretch and all I can think of is…pointing my toes and ankle rotations. Not really….stretchy. lol

      Like

      1. Yea it’s def hard to do it. basically… when you don’t put any weight on your foot, pull your foot towards your leg so you end up making like a 7 from you toes to your knee… that’s one way. if you google stretches they might explain it better than me.

        Like

  4. What’s important to note is HOW you are hitting the ground when you run. While there’s no 100% consensus in the running community, the generally accepted idea is that it is better to land on your forefoot than on your heel. Quite often that loud plunking sound is the sound of your heel smacking against the ground and the rest of your foot rolling forward after.

    You’ll want to slowly transition toward landing on your forefoot to avoid this, which should also help with any potential shin splints. The best way to gauge how to land is to run in place. That’s how you should be running in general. It definitely feels weird the first time you do it (my wife says it feels like you’re not using your entire foot), but for many runners out there, it’s a great way to improve your biomechanics and avoid injuries.

    Like

    1. I guess I should have clarified that I’m running in barefoot shoes. Hitting with the heel is something I’m automatically avoiding. I seem to strike about mid-way through the foot and roll into it…when I start running. But after a while my foot stops “rolling” and instead slaps down like…well…like when you’re walking with a pair of flippers on. lol. It’s not super loud, but it’s noticeable.

      I’m going to keep an eye on it going forward and hopefully it’s just a part of muscle learning to function and not horrid bio-mechanics.

      Like

Leave a Reply

