Truth #6

What was high school like for you?

Highschool. Hmmm. Well let’s see. Before going to high school I was lucky enough to have a nearly full scholarship to go to a private school. Despite some people’s reservations, most private schools (at least the nonreligious ones) are extremely good and definitely a worth while investment. If you have the coin or the foresight to do so, definitely invest in these for your children’s future.

Funny enough, my school uniform looked quite similar to this. =)

But I digress. I left the private school after junior high having only attended from grade 7-9. This decision was mostly due to guilt. I was the only one that was going to this school and my siblings, though uninterested, were stuck in public school. It felt like a great weight of responsibility for me to make the best of this opportunity. Because of this guilt I made the decision to leave the private school and rejoin public school for grades 10, 11, and 12. In retrospect this was a big mistake, but when you’re a kid you don’t realize these things.

So when I came to public high school I was pretty much a stranger. All of these people grew up together, knew each other, etc. I was the unknown. I was difficult to classify. My natural tendencies made me both a jock and a nerd. At the same time as joining the water polo team, I also joined an advanced mathematics class for the study of fractal geometry and chaos theory. This confused pretty much everyone. Because of how much more advanced the studies of the private school were comparative to public school, I spent most of the next 3 years sleeping through my classes.

It may surprise some, that English was my worst subject. It wasn’t because I had no grasp of the language. Nor was it because I couldn’t write, read, or comprehend the written word. It was mostly because of my English teacher’s preference for girls over boys. There was only one boy that got higher than a C+, everyone else was C+ or lower. The girls, on the other hand, mystifyingly were able to maintain an A- average across the entire group. Despite having considerable handicaps like, not handing in work on time, or an inability to string a sentence together without four or more “like’s” thrown in. “Shakespeare, is like, this guy who like, well he really likes to like write stuff in like this form that’s called like iambicular pynamter and stuff.”  B+ for the girl with the tight top and pushup bra!! Weeee! Must be fun to be a lecherous bald headed high school English teacher.

Blake Lively – Automatic A+

The worst thing about not being pigeon holed into a category is that girls don’t know what to think of you. You’re a sports guy, but you talk with big words. You’re a nerd guy, but you play hockey, lacrosse, water polo, and basketball. They didn’t know what to do with me and I didn’t know what to do with myself. I had very little confidence in my speaking ability when it came to talking to girls. I panicked and never really got passed the point of being able to treat girls as more than just friends. My goodness that’s agonizing though. Being friend-zoned is one thing….but friend-zoning yourself….geez that’s depressing.

It wasn’t till about 2yrs after graduating that I found out that one of the girls I had a crush on, actually had a crush on me too. Damn it! She was such a cutie…smart as a whip…one of the few that actually deserved that A- in English.

…..so that’s my high school experience in a nutshell.

Please remember to vote for the next #truth in the sidebar poll. =)

Leave a Reply

