#Resolutions for 2013

My resolutions are as follows:

#1: Complete 2 or more marathons

#2: Complete 1 or more triathlons

#3: Finish writing current novel

#4: *censored for privacy reasons*

That’s it. I’m keeping it simple. They are somewhat lofty goals but all are attainable. All require patience. All require steady and regular effort to progress. All will benefit my life as a whole, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

To succeed in resolution #1 I have to start running. I’ve never liked running. It’s boring for me. My thinking is that if I spend some time on resolution #1 while thinking about resolution #3 I’ll be able to accomplish both in less time.

To succeed in resolution #2 I merely have to maintain my discipline from resolution #1. Running would be the hardest part of a triathlon for me. If I can make it to marathon distance, then the shorter distance on a beginner triathlon should be easily accomplished.

To succeed in resolution #3 I have to maintain a steady output of writing. The general storyline is already written in my head. The characters are fully developed. The plot line explored. The points of tension, the points of conflict, have been evaluated. All that’s left is to write. In general I can quite easily write 4000-5000 words in a week without too much effort. Assuming a decent sized novel is about 80,000 words and that only 75% of what I write makes it to a final cut I would need to write 107,000 words. At even 3000 words per week I would reach that goal in 36 weeks. Considering that I’ve already posted nearly 26,000 words already just in the 5 episodes I’ve posted so far, this goal should be quite easy to successfully obtain.

To succeed in resolution #4 I just have to maintain some personal pride and self restraint. No I will not share with you what this resolution is. This is mine to know, and no one else.

So that’s the plan. What do you think?

5 thoughts on “#Resolutions for 2013

  1. I think that you won’t share personal resolution # 4 just sucks 😉 What was that you said about ‘points of tension’. Argh…

    Like

  2. I wish you luck with all of your goals. I’m not much of a runner, but I’m starting to get into it. I’m training to climb a mountain this spring. Went on a run this weekend that consisted mainly of hills. My legs are tired. Happy New Year!

    Like

      1. We are still working out all of the details of the trip. But hopefully one in Malaysia. We’ll see over the next few weeks. I knew I better get going on the training though since I don’t want to be carried down the mountain. Good luck with your “Couch to 5k”

        Like

Leave a Reply

